The Plan

This blog has a very nice plan to it. The plan’s for me to get my knowledge of physics solidified. Too many things are either fuzzy, forgotten, or poorly understood. There was a time were I had things neatly ordered in my mind. But lack of practice and bad habits turned the situation around. But no more of that! Things are going for a U turn and Elvis is entering the building .

This is the list of how things are going down:

1. Basic Mathematics – Based on my course notes of Analysis I,II,III and IV, Linear Algebra, Probability and Statistics (plus some books)
2. Newtonian Physics – Optics and Acoustics will be considered here in principle
3. Electromagnetism – Special Relativity will be studied here. This is the best way to show Maxwell’s equations covariance.
4. Analytical Mechanics
5. Quantum Mechanics
6. Statistical Mechanics
7. Solid State Physics
8. Mathematical Methods of Physics -Some math already studied in point 1 will be viewed in a deeper light, and on the other hand some more sophisticated mathematical machinery will be used.
9. Particle Physics
10. Gravitation and Cosmology
11. Fluid Mechanics – Not much, since I only have a little book in this topic.
12. Non-Linear Phenomena – I don’t know if this point will actually be done. But this is very pretty topic that wasn’t too touched while I was taking the degree and I’d like to know a little more about it.
13. Quantum Field Theory – Maybe a little too technical even for this blog but we’ll see.

Some overlap is expected and that list is more of a guideline than anything else.

Sometimes I may tackle something a bit earlier that it is supposed to, while other times I may tackle some problem that seems like it’s being treated in a later stage. Well, but that’s just how it is.

Things will definitely be done until point 10. I’m not really sure if the last two points will be done. Eitherway we’ll certainly have enough material to take me something like 2 to 3 years in some hard (and fun) work and I hope people won’t lose their interest.

Share on Facebook

Share

5 Responses to “The Plan”

  1. This is really a very good plan. Since it’s my area of study, I want to encourage you to not forget point 13. Of course is too long, but it’s possible to fill at least Field Quantization, Quantum Electrodynamics and an overview of Weak Interactions.
    I just sing in a blog yesterday. The main title is “The Elegance of Universe”. My idea is quite similar to yours, but I will start with some physical problems and theories and, when needed, I will also explain the mathematics behind that. The major difference from what you are doing and what I intend to do, is the way I will follow to arrive at the final objective.
    But now, I am only learning how to deal with blog tools and page appearance.

    Cheers,

    António

  2. Bosse de Nage Says:

    Hey Warlock, it’s very impressive but so far over my head I have to laugh. Maybe in the next lifetime …

  3. Things aren’t going to get much nicer when we get to physics since I plan build (in the sense that I plan to use some serious Mathematics) physics from this.

    But for instance in here. What do you find more hard to follow?

  4. […] thing is still on. Let me assure that this thing is indeed on and will be one until point 10 of my plan is […]

  5. […] still intend to follow the plan I laid out in the beginning and I understand if some people are getting turned of by the long bouts of inactivity this blog has […]

Leave a Reply

